Copper Cove Climbing

Wednesday after work, met up with one of my good buddies at Copper Cove where he was working on his routes. Coper Cove is a beautiful area right by the ocean, the only downside of it is the necessity to coordinate the climbing with the tides (it’s a difficult access on a high tide). I wanted to try out the new routes that he has set up and spent many days cleaning “Contortionist” (5.10d-5.11a) and “Di-rectal dysfunction” (5.10c). That day I felt pretty good about myself and decided to jump straight into a harder climb and ascend it right away without trying it out under a top rope first. But it turned out that I had a false sense of confidence and the climb kicked me right in the arse! It wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be and I ended up cutting my finger and it took my concentration that I needed from finishing the ascent, so midway I felt defeated and gave up. My buddy finished the route and I climbed it under a top rope, and what I have realized is that I was only one move away from passing the hard part, and the rest of the climb was super easy! I will have to come back to finish my ascent and try the other routes in that area! Either way, it was a fun evening and great to catch up with my buddy!

Coper Cove - My buddy rappelling from the top

Coper Cove – My buddy rappelling from the top

Ascending "Contortionist"

Ascending “Contortionist”

Traversing after the tide came up...

Traversing after the tide came up…

Leave a Reply

