Day Trip to Kamloops for the First Jump of the Season

As the days are getting longer and warmer, different activities come with it; Skydiving is one of them… Skydiving isn’t one of my favorite sports, but it’s fun to go do a few jumps once in a while! It is also interesting to jump from different drop zones, yesterday I decided to ride my motorcycle to Kamloops and do a couple jumps at Kamloops Skydivers.

Kamloops is 3 and a half hours drive from Vancouver, and it passes through a beautiful mountainous area which makes it a fun ride all in itself. This time a year it is still chilli to ride there, I didn’t wear proper clothing and my legs got super icy during the morning ride, took me half a day to un-thaw them afterwards lol.

After arriving to the Kamloops drop zone, I had a quick introduction to the area and their regulation. Everyone was super friendly there and I did a couple jumps with a few fun jumpers. Was a fun day indeed!

View of Yak Peak on Coquihalla Hwy.

View of Yak Peak on Coquihalla Hwy.

Our Second Jump, doing a drift dive which I screwed up and fell behind the group lol (I'm in black/red jumpsuit)

Our Second Jump, doing a drift dive which I screwed up and fell behind the group lol (I’m in black/red jumpsuit)

20150419_191634~2

4 thoughts on “Day Trip to Kamloops for the First Jump of the Season

  1. I think a very strong stomach is needed for this sport, Edgar, which you evidently have. I’m glad you had a fun day and came to no harm when you screwed up your second jump! Kamloops looks like a beautiful location.

    • Skydiving is actually not too bad of a sport, relatively safe… Don’t really get nervous anymore doing it, but I do remember my first jumps long ago when I was still learning, was a scary learning progression! lol

Leave a Reply

