Too Cold to Fly?

20150101_075314

Ever since my last flight when I had an engine failure on take off and had to make an emergency landing two months ago, I haven’t flown ever since. The aero club that I belong to wants me to fly with an instructor once before I resume my regular flying. So to start the year fresh, I though it’d be a good idea to take the plane out first thing as the sun comes up.

I have made arrangements with my instructor to meet at the airport at 8 am. As we got to the aircraft, it was completely covered with frost, making it unsafe to fly. I have never used de-icing equipment, so it was a good lesson for me to de-ice the aircraft.

After 45 minutes of spraying the wings and control areas, we were ready to go. As soon as we started the propeller, and the air started to flow, it froze the windshield and the frost started to build again! We had to call off the flight since the product that the aeroclub had wasn’t sufficient to keep the frost off the aircraft.

Either way, even tho we didn’t get to fly, it was a good learning experience.

My instructor applying de-icing to the critical areas

My instructor applying de-icing to the critical areas

Frost on windshield after the propeller started to spin

Frost on windshield after the propeller started to spin

Leave a Reply

