Near Death Experience – Surviving an Engine Failure on Take-Off

Last night, I have decided to have an evening local flight, a couple friends came along. During the time when the sun was setting down, we were on the runway, engine fully on, accelerating until the airplane had enough speed to take off. Wheels off the ground now, I was staying in ground effect (low to the ground) to build some speed before climbing to altitude. As I was coming close to the end of the runway, I noticed a drop in RPM, and the engine started to go haywire. At that moment, I was in a very vulnerable position: I was low to the ground, and there was a river in front of me (where I didn’t want to land). So the only option I had was to do an unsafe turn close to the ground towards the grass and put the plane down there. Everything happened so quickly. Luckily I had just enough time to do that, and I landed in the muddy grass, and luckily I flared enough that the airplane didn’t flip upside down. No one was hurt, and the airplane seems to be in one shape (inspection is happening now).

Now there’s tons of thoughts going thru my mind at the moment, lots of ‘What ifs.’ I am very thankful that I was able to land the airplane in that circumstance, and that no one was killed or injured. I don’t know what I would of have done if a friend would of died, or be seriously injured. It makes me not feel so good thinking about it.

At the same time, it reminds me that anything in life can happen unexpectedly. So while everything is going fine, enjoy it to the fullest! Make every moment count! And stop with the excuses that stops you to really enjoy life! Life is a gift, and it won’t last forever!

I did have a gopro recording this incident that I hope turned out well, I will upload it in the next few days along with a  full story of what happened.

received_10152544836743897 20141023_180558

3 thoughts on “Near Death Experience – Surviving an Engine Failure on Take-Off

  1. Pingback: Emergency Landing after Engine Failure on Take Off | Edgar Bullon

Leave a Reply

